Lynn Price

Lynn Price



Lynn Price is an Affiliate (retired Senior Scientist) in the Energy Technologies Area of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Ms. Price's research is focused on energy efficiency and greenhouse gas mitigation, with an emphasis on industrial applications, materials efficiency, and China. Ms. Price was initially hired at Berkeley Lab in 1990 by Dr. Art Rosenfeld. She was Deputy Group Leader of the International Energy Studies Group from 1998 to 2007, Deputy Group Leader of the China Energy Group from 2011 to 2012, Group Leader of the China Energy Group from 2012 to 2016, Department Head of the International Energy Analysis Department from 2016 to 2017, and Acting Division Director of the Energy Analysis and Environmental Impacts Division from 2016 to 2017. In 2020, Ms. Price was awarded Berkeley Lab's Lifetime Achievement Award.

Since 1994, Ms. Price has been a member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, which won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007. She was a lead author of the IPCC’s Second, Third, Fourth, and Fifth Assessment Reports on Mitigation of Climate Change and served as a U.S. government expert for the recently-released Sixth Assessment Report. Ms. Price has provided technical and policy-making assistance related to related to energy efficiency and climate change mitigation on a variety of projects since the early 1990s for the U.S. Department of Energy, U.S. State Department, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, World Bank, United Nations Industrial Development Organization, U.S. Agency for International Development, California Energy Commission, California Air Resources Board, Energy Foundation China, ClimateWorks Foundation, Hewlett Foundation, Oak Foundation, Bloomberg Philanthropies, and others.

Ms. Price has a BS in Geography and an MS in Environmental Science from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. 



Lifetime Achievement Award: Lynn Price -  September 29th 2020

2020 The Berkeley Lab Prize – Lifetime Achievement Award

Lynn Price is being honored for a career marked by extraordinary global outcomes, most notably the design of innovative industrial energy efficiency policy in China, as well as her analysis and leadership that contributed to the 2015 Paris Climate Agreement.

2017 R&D 100 Award: Benchmarking and Energy Saving Tool for Low-Carbon Cities (BEST Cities) -  November 20th 2017

The Benchmarking and Energy Saving Tool for Low-Carbon Cities (BEST Cities) provides a rapidly deployable tool to use for low-carbon planning, especially in China. This integrated, computer-based software helps local policymakers and urban planners quickly assess their city's energy use and related emissions, compare their low-carbon performance to similar cities and develop and prioritize a low-carbon development plan with strategies that reduce city CO2 and methane (CH4) emissions. BEST Cities assesses local energy use and energy-related CO2 and CH4 emissions from nine economic sectors—industry, public and commercial buildings, residential buildings, transportation, production of power and heat, street lighting, water and wastewater, solid waste, and urban green space—giving officials a comprehensive perspective on their energy and carbon inventory. The tool benchmarks 35 indicators of energy and emissions performance with other cities inside and outside of China and prioritizes sectors with the greatest energy-saving and emissions-reduction potential. Beta-testing was provided by Shandong Academy of Sciences. The technology was based on model originally developed by ESMAP known as TRACE, the Tool for the Rapid Assessment of City Energy.

2007 Nobel Peace Prize -  October 30th 2007

Scientists at the Department of Energy's Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory were important contributors to the research on global climate change that has won this year's Nobel Peace Prize.

The 2007 Peace Prize was awarded jointly to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and to former Vice President Al Gore, Jr., "for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change."

William Collins and Inez Fung of the Earth Sciences Division (ESD), and Mark Levine, Surabi Menon, Evan Mills, Lynn Price, Jayant Sathaye, and Ernst Worrell of the Environmental Energy Technologies Division (EETD) are among current members of Berkeley Lab who were leading authors of this year's IPCC working group reports.

Journal and Editorial Board Memberships

Intergovermental Panel on Climate Change, Member